1. News & Issues

TIME Person of the Year


TIME Person of the Year
Each year, TIME magazine bestows its Person of the Year honor on the individual or group who "for better or for worse ...has done the most to influence the events of the year." Formerly the Man of the Year award, it began in 1927 when the magazine needed to give Charles Lindbergh more coverage for his feat of making the first trans-Atlantic flight. Every U.S. president has made the list at least once since its inception except for Calvin Coolidge, Herbert Hoover, and Gerald Ford. One U.S. president got the honor three times. Read on to see who the TIME Person of the Year has been each year.

1927: Charles Lindbergh
1928: Walter Chrysler
1929: Owen D. Young, author of the Young Plan, a program for settlement of German reparations debts after World War I
1930: Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the Indian independence movement
1931: Pierre Laval, four-time Prime Minister of France
1932: Franklin D. Roosevelt
1933: Hugh Samuel Johnson, director of the National Recovery Administration
1934: Franklin D. Roosevelt
1935: Haile Selassie I, emperor of Ethiopia from 1930 to 1974
1936: Wallis Simpson, the American divorcee for whom King Edward VIII abdicated his throne
1937: Chiang Kai-shek, premier of China, and his wife, Soong May-ling
1938: Adolf Hitler
1939: Joseph Stalin
1940: Winston Churchill
1941: Franklin D. Roosevelt
1942: Joseph Stalin
1943: George Marshall
1944: Dwight D. Eisenhower
1945: Harry S. Truman
1946: James F. Byrnes
1947: George Marshall
1948: Harry S. Truman
1949: Winston Churchill
1950: The American fighting-man (Korean War)
1951: Mohammad Mossadegh
1952: Elizabeth II
1953: Konrad Adenauer
1954: John Foster Dulles
1955: Harlow Curtice (head of General Motors)
1956: The Hungarian freedom fighter
1957: Nikita Khrushchev
1958: Charles de Gaulle
1959: Dwight D. Eisenhower
1960: American Scientists
1961: John F. Kennedy
1962: Pope John XXIII
1963: Martin Luther King, Jr.
1964: Lyndon B. Johnson
1965: William Westmoreland
1966: Baby Boomers
1967: Lyndon B. Johnson
1968: The Apollo 8 astronauts
1969: The Middle Americans
1970: Willy Brandt
1971: Richard Nixon
1972: Richard Nixon and Henry Kissinger
1973: John Sirica, judge who ordered Nixon to turn over Watergate-related recordings
1974: King Faisal
1975: American women
1976: Jimmy Carter
1977: Anwar Sadat
1978: Deng Xiaoping
1979: Ayatollah Khomeini
1980: Ronald Reagan
1981: Lech Wałęsa
1982: The Computer
1983: Ronald Reagan and Yuri Andropov
1984: Peter Ueberroth, former Major League Baseball commissioner who helmed this year's summer Olympics in Los Angeles
1985: Deng Xiaoping
1986: Corazon C. Aquino
1987: Mikhail Gorbachev
1988: The Endangered Earth
1989: Mikhail Gorbachev
1990: George H. W. Bush
1991: Ted Turner, founder of CNN
1992: Bill Clinton
1993: The Peacemakers (Yasser Arafat, F.W. de Klerk, Nelson Mandela, and Yitzhak Rabin)
1994: Pope John Paul II
1995: Newt Gingrich
1996: David Ho, AIDS researcher
1997: Andrew Grove, CEO of Intel
1998: Bill Clinton and Kenneth Starr, the independent counsel who investigated Clinton scandals including Whitewater and the Monica Lewinsky affair
1999: Jeffrey P. Bezos, founder and CEO of Amazon.com
2000: George W. Bush
2001: Rudolph Giuliani, the New York City mayor who guided his city through the aftermath of the 9/11 terrorist attacks
2002: The Whistleblowers - Cynthia Cooper (WorldCom), Coleen Rowley (FBI) and Sherron Watkins (Enron)
2003: The American soldier
2004: George W. Bush
2005: The Good Samaritans (Bono, Bill Gates, and Melinda Gates)
2006: You (content creators on the Internet)
2007: Vladimir Putin
2008: Barack Obama
2009: Ben Bernanke
2010: Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook founder
2011: The protester (including the Arab Spring, the Indignants Movement, Tea Party movement and Occupy Movement)
2012: Barack Obama

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. World News
  4. Top Stories
  5. TIME Person of the Year - Winners of Person of the Year

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.